Joyfulness: A Roadmap towards the Sense of Fulfillment

In response to Dancing Elephants Press prompt #14 of 52 for book project #2

Umme Salma
Dancing Elephants Press
4 min readJun 13, 2023

--

Image by Mufid Majnun on pexel.com

Close your eyes and try to think, think, and think deeply: which memories bring a smile to your face?

Probably, the first touch of your kid, or maybe a childhood memory with your parents, soothes your mind and brings a bright smile to your face.

Aren’t all these memories joyful to you?

Let’s find out the root of joyfulness through one of my life stories close to my heart.

Finding the Root of Joyfulness

Story#1

I got married in my late 30s and was not conceiving after two years of marriage. At one stage, I started taking advanced medical assistance that seeded a ray of hope in me. I thoroughly enjoyed the journey of preparing to be a mother. I was full of soul, full of hope — a Joyful heart. Even the numerous painful injections and surgery could not make me sad. However, after six months of medical treatments, I lost my unborn child- my precious, my love, my embryo.

This incident completely shattered me, and I started to believe I won’t ever be able to be a mother considering my age and other medical complications. Sadness created a home in my heart, and I actively searched for all the missing things in life. I forget to see how blessed I am. However, I know our God blesses all of us in different ways. I started to seek help from my lord, my creator.

Within a few days, He filled my heart with the hope of his miracles and joy.

I don’t see the solution. I don’t know what’s going to happen tomorrow. But I do know one thing for sure — Indeed, my God is with me, and He will guide me through. And when we have that attitude, our creator promises something: He will split the seas for us (metaphoric ), which means He will do the impossible for us. The situation that looks impossible, He will make a way out. When we don’t see a solution, Our lord will give us a solution from places we never imagined. Whoever focuses on Him first, who makes Him first above anything and everything, He will make a way out for them from the places they never imagined.

So, having faith in the Almighty and remembering his uncountable bounties is the root of joyfulness. I have experienced this connection multiple times in my and my close ones’ lives.

Joyfulness is the essence of life that fragrances our life with fulfillment and serenity.

Apart from my own life, I always try to learn from others regardless of their age, status, or achievements. Recently two incidents stirred my mind to appreciate my life more and cultivate the practice of gratitude.

Story#2

A week after Eid vacation, one of the largest religious festive for Muslims, my helping hand returned from her village, sick and exhausted. She is bearing her family single-handedly, as her husband and son are happily unemployed and have medalled with lazy badges.

Yet, she was full of color! Guess what? She applied mehendi on her hands, ignoring all her gray shades of life. This color of joy immediately boosted my mood too. I appreciated her joyful spirit amid, being in the struggle of life, fighting with poverty.

Story#3

I visited a village a few years back, and I still remember a bunch of kids playing in the pond and splashing water towards each other, the vibrant smile and joy of the kids were so pure that they transferred to any passerby.

Kids are like this- they can create their happy world with whatever they have and wherever they are! They have a joyful heart that comes from their pure souls. By default, we are born with pure souls. With our ages, complicacy of life and negative externality, and most importantly, not adequately thankful for the favors of our Almighty, many of us become ungrateful and complaining in nature. Eventually, we lost our joyful hearts.

Why do we need to cultivate joyfulness in our life?

Life is like the river. It reminds me a popular Bengali song

ও নদীরে

একটি কথা শুধাই শুধু তোমারে

বলো কোথায় তোমার দেশ

তোমার নেই কি চলার শেষ

ও নদীরে

তোমার কোনো বাঁধন নাই,

তুমি ঘর ছাড়া কি তাই।।

এই আছ ভাটায় আবার

এই তো দেখি জোয়ারে

বলো কোথায় তোমার দেশ

তোমার নেই কি চলার শেষ

ও নদীরে….

O’ dear river

One thing I want to know

Tell me, where is your country?

Don’t you ever cease flowing?

O’ dear river

You have no bindings.

Is that because you are homeless?

One moment you erase a shore

Next, you create one.

Tell me, where is your country?

Don’t you ever cease flowing?

O’ dear river….

(English translation)

Our life is like a river, and it follows its course of action (The Tide Rises, the Tide Falls). We all face ups and downs in the journey of our lives, and if we can nurture joyfulness, we will learn to go with the flow of lives smoothly. Joyfulness can flourish our positive spirit so that we can appreciate the gifts of life.

So, if we want calmness and peace in life, we must learn to make peace with our situation, preferably make friends with the challenges of our life. Practicing joyfulness plays a crucial role in that. It improves our overall well-being and helps us to have a positive mindset.

--

--