Let Me Go..!

A Plea for Freedom from Uncertainty

Tamanna_Verma
Dancing Elephants Press
3 min readJun 24, 2024

--

Sometimes letting go is an act of far greater power than defending or hanging on

Photo by Paulo Felipe Assis on Unsplash

In the journey of self-discovery, we often find ourselves entangled in battles with hidden forces that weigh us down. These struggles are not always easy to name, yet their presence is deeply felt in our lives. Somewhere unknown, I encountered a figure cloaked in the false robes of grandeur. Without knowing much about him, I shook his hand and embarked on a journey. He was friendly, and charming, and always carried himself with immense pride. Before long, he had pleasingly and softly enveloped me in the deepest of the mysteries. This enigmatic figure was EGO.

For me, ego was the secret battle — something that pleasures us outwardly but holds our spirits captive inside. I made every attempt to free my spirit from his grip, striving to reclaim my true self with a single spell — Let Me Go!

Please let me go
if your grip loosens with each passing day
if the chains that once held us together are fraying
with each fresh heartbeat

Please let me leave
if your heart hesitates to claim mine
if the distance between us grows wider
with every silence and every unspoken word.

I’m weary from this endless chase
from running in circles that lead nowhere
each step a heavy reminder of what we once were
or what we could have been, if only

My spirit wanes
exhausted from pleadings
that fall into the void
worn thin by hushed prayers
that ring in the empty spaces between us
seeking alleviation in the starlit depths of your eyes
a place where I can belong
where I can rest

But your eyes flicker away, eluding my longing
sidestepping the truth that dawdles in the shadows
and I stand on the brink of a promise
fragile hope that never quite finds its way home
that never becomes real

Release me
for the weight of unspoken words
and half-hearted hugs is too much for a soul
that only ever wanted to be held tight
to be loved fully and to be seen
not as a transient moment
but as an immortal anchor in your heart

It was only when I met Humility that I noticed Ego’s true colors. Ego tried to argue his strengths but it didn’t suffice and left.

With Humility by my side
the grip of expectations
loosened
replaced
by the elegance of acceptance
finding peace in letting go

I found the courage to walk away
to cherish the very beauty
of what was
and to welcome the promise
of what could be
beyond the confines of our fading connection

Humility taught me that
true strength lies in releasing
and as I turn away
I carry with me the wisdom of humility
the gift of letting go
and the hope
that in surrendering
I find not weakness but resilience
not loss but a deeper love
of what bound us together
I walk the path of forgiveness and renewal

In those careful momentary pauses
I see your smile for in the memories
like constellations in the night sky
guiding me towards a future bright with possibility

Photo by Miquel Parera on Unsplash

Releasing what weighs you down is not a loss but an act of self-liberation and strength

Suggested Readings —

Mantra | Poetry by Santayana Rose | Dr. Gabriella Korosi

A Mural of Moods | The world is my coloring book. Emotions are my crayons. | LIN

--

--

Tamanna_Verma
Dancing Elephants Press

Poetic Dreamer | Faithful soul traveling with thoughts | Culture-loving seeker of wisdom & transcendence, here to learn & grow with words | 2^4+1