Let’s Think Gratitude

You can never think of Gratitude too much!

James Boylan
Dancing Elephants Press

--

Gratitude
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Working as a copper in Detroit earlier and now in a soup kitchen on Flint, MI’s East Side, has put me in a position to be grateful because of what I have seen and experienced. Zombie meth addicts bitching about the alcoholics. Alcoholics moaning and groaning about the addicts.

Bipolar people complaining about alcoholics and addicts. Alcoholics and addicts saying their only problem was that they were Bipolar. All are truly grateful for the lunch which will probably be the only meal they have today, or more probably, for several days.

Another was grateful that his furnace was fixed with a cheap DIY fix by a friend and, for the first time in 5 years, he had heat in the abandoned house where he lived the year around.

Then there was a “zombie” spraying himself with Lysol so that we all would know that he was now clean and not carrying Covid. And the beat and list goes on!

I realized a long time ago that there but for the grace of God go I. Why? Because my name is Jim and I am an alcoholic. When I was introduced to the AA Program, I had no religious or spiritual background.

I saw many people in my neighborhood who were alcoholics, addicts, homeless, and generally dysfunctional. The thought that I would maybe become…

--

--

James Boylan
Dancing Elephants Press

"HI" Medium Top Writer Ideas. Publisher Spiritualityandrecovery. 47+ yrs sober introduced me to Spirituality.