Life in Its Endless Busyness

Justin
Dancing Elephants Press
2 min readJun 7, 2023

Oh, to know where to go

Photo by mauro mora on Unsplash

It’s 6:24 am. I’m alone on my couch in my living room, listening to the birds chirping as the sun slowly rises and the day is beginning for everyone around me.

I woke up at 4:30 this morning, out the door by 4:45, at the gym by 5. I was home, showered, and on the couch by 6:15. A lot’s happened already. Shamefully, there’s a bit of pride that comes with being able to say that I’ve accomplished all of that before 6:30. But unfortunately, there’s also a bit of guilt and unease.

Is this truly where I should be spending my time? Would a short walk around the block suffice? Do I NEED to spend those 25 minutes driving to and from the gym? Should I shower at the gym to be more efficient before heading to the office?

My mind spins, and I find myself being caught up in the minutiae of everything. Do these choices really matter that much anyways? Is it all arbitrary? Is it just the routine that’s helping me to stay mentally focused on other tasks that I need to accomplish throughout the day?

Despite this rapid spiral before 6:30 struck this morning, I sat and noticed the birds.

The birds?

Yes, the birds. It’s so simple, maybe even a little stupid, but it’s brought me peace. The choices may be arbitrary, but they’ve helped me feel a bit better. I may make different use of my morning in the future, but for now, this is working.

The hustle and bustle of daily life often gets me down. I’m never quite sure if I’m using my time as effectively as I possibly could be, but there’s comfort in knowing that nobody else really is either.

I think it’s important to remind myself that the choices I’m making may not be the best in the long run, but if they’re helpful in the now. If they bring me peace. If they make me a better man for my fiancé, my family, my friends, and my coworkers, then I’m doing right by myself and others.

It’s so simple, yet so pure. All of that from the birds.

--

--