LIFE | HEALTH

Life Is Not A Race

On a wild goose chase, I forgot that life doesn’t wait around that next elusive corner

Purbita Chakraborty
Dancing Elephants Press
7 min readJul 7, 2024

--

Two people sitting on a bench under a tree and looking at a person riding a bike on a path amongst the greenery.
The world can race, but I am done. Photo by the author

I had a major breakdown at work last month.

I had a growth conversation with my manager and came out of the meeting room flushed, my body trembling. I managed to walk to my chair and sat down to calm my body. I opened my laptop to hide the obvious distress I was in and pretended to work, despite the anger, shame, and humiliation that boiled up inside me. I knew something was off.

I had tremors in my right hand and right leg, and the right part of my body felt paralyzed. I tried hard not to collapse in front of everyone and sat there motionless watching my fingers trembling as if I was watching a horror movie and it was happening to someone else.

I have been experiencing these mild tremors and acute chest pain at work for a while now whenever I was under high stress, and the intensity of the tremors was never this high. The first time it happened, I didn’t pay much attention. I knew stress and anxiety were overwhelming me in ways I couldn’t handle anymore. I stretched myself too thin because I thought failing was not an option.

Survival of the fittest

--

--

Purbita Chakraborty
Dancing Elephants Press

"Where the mind is without fear" - Technical Writer, Wellbeing, Design & Travel Writer, Advocate for Diversity & Inclusion - http://aframe4life.com/