Mission Good Health: Through Wellness Package

Dancing Elephants Book Project: Health and Wellness. Group 2

Umme Salma
Dancing Elephants Press
4 min readMar 28, 2022

--

Image by Nataliya Vaitkevich on pexel.com

It was only a few days after my wedding, and I was supposed to weave fairy tales for the new chapter of my life, but the reality was something far from this, and before the color of bridal henna faded, my dreams started to dissolve in the smoke of tensions.

While returning from a welcome party, I slipped from the stairs and got a severe leg injury, and in a fraction of a moment, my world turned upside down and felt like the new colorful canvas of life had torn into pieces.

Staying in plaster for about two and half months felt like spending ages in those moments and made me realize, once again, that health is the most beautiful and empowering blessing from the Almighty that we must cherish.

Branded clothing, dazzling jewelry, lavish home, expensive car, delicious and water mouthing foods, or nothing can bring comfort, peace, and happiness without health.

My whole world revolved around thoughts of standing on my feet again, walking on the wet grass barefoot, lying under the open sky together with my love, playing with the water of blue sea like an agile kid, and many more.

In those days, the pure love and care from loved ones, especially my mother and husband, helped me gather the scattered pieces of my mind.

However, the physical disability broke me inside when the mental stress spiced up the wounds and got little disturbed by some insensitive comments like: “It’s not a good sign that a new bride fell from the stairs, if we do anything wrong, sometimes we are punished by such an accident, and a daughter-in-law should be at her maternal home when she is in a sickbed.

These words by some new distant relatives bugged me inside as I was a bit emotional even though I wore a hard shell outside. Those indirect pinches were like sprinkling and adding salt, chili, and other spices to my wounds to keep my injury fresh.

Choose Wellness Package

Thanks to my positive gene, it doesn’t allow negativity to create a home in my heart for long rather than encourages me to wear glasses of positivity to see the beauty of life even in a challenging situation.

I started to appreciate the care and love of my beloved husband, who kept no stone unturned to bring a smile to my face. Moreover, I felt like being a little princess of my mom again, and it’s a blessing how gracefully she was taking the trouble to come to my place to take care of me every day.

I started to realize how privileged I was to connect with nature through my windows that allowed the sun to kiss my face, the rain to soothe my mind, and the moon to spill over her gentle lights on my face, the birds to sing songs for me that reached to my soul even though I was on the sickbed.

My heart started to hum, dance, and weave my dream of new life again. In the dawn, I waited with the ticking of the wall clock for my hubby to come back and used to be dolled up for him just as a new bride does.

All day long, I used to fuel my creativity by reading books and crafting some draft stories lying on a bed till his return.

Those little moments reignited my belief in the Almighty, and I tried wholeheartedly not to miss my daily prayers, even by sitting or lying. The dedicated efforts of making a spiritual connection revived me in a new spirit to embrace life as it comes and try sincerely to make things better. I chose the path of wellness to reach the destination of good health, and it’s a lifelong process.

That accident taught me to appreciate life even more, and realize the ability to touch, sight, hear, smell, taste, walk, feel, etc., is not taken for guaranteed gifts from the Almighty, and we must take care of our body, mind, and soul cause these make us human beings.

When I look back, I understand the several factors that helped me walk on ‘the path of wellness’ to achieve good health at that time.

Based on that experience, I developed my wellness recipe with the necessary ingredients.

My Wellness recipe

Ingredients

One plate of a healthy diet

1/3 cup of exercise

One heart full of Love

3 lbs of positivity

3 gram of freshness of nature

5 lbs of smile

A generous sprinkles of kindness

Plenty of faith

Others (as per your choice)

Method:

  1. Take a plate of a healthy diet, then add two spoons of exercise, and blend the mixture with 3 pounds of positivity.
  2. Then add 5 lbs of smile with three grams of the freshness of nature, pour generosity into the mixture and boil it.
  3. Now, add on plenty of faith, mix all other ingredients well with care and humility, season with a heart full of love and serve a cup of wellness.

Let’s cook our lifestyle with the right intentions, good choices, and meaningful actions to feed our soul, body, and mind and grow every day till our last breath in this beautiful world.

There is an old saying, health is wealth which is still contemporary. A healthy individual can form a healthy family, a healthy family can build a healthy nation, and a healthy nation can make a healthy world.

Thank you to the esteemed Editors of the Dancing Elephants Book Project, Lady Dr. Gabriella Korosi, Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles, Sharing Randomly.

--

--