My Epic Road Trip During COVID

In response to Dancing Elephants Press prompt 6 of DEP LIFE

Libby Shively McAvoy
Dancing Elephants Press

--

Author’s Photo of The Grand Tetons

Growing up, my parents took me on road trips several times a year, so to this day, I love a spontaneous adventure. My mom always packed sandwiches and healthy foods in a cooler so we could avoid eating fast food on the drives. And we always had a solid “goodie bag,” which was full of sinful snacks we did not normally have at home. This bag was a treasure trove of treats like (chocolate bars, bags of chips, and our favorite cookies), all carefully chosen to make the trip fun. I carry out these same traditions, but I do not snack as much now as when I was a little girl.

Following in my mom’s footsteps, I’ve learned the value of careful planning. We start our day early, ensuring we don’t exhaust ourselves with long hours on the road. By driving a maximum of eight hours a day, we reach our hotel by four, leaving ample time to unwind by the pool and enjoy a glass of wine before seeking out the best local cuisine.

Driving instead of flying has allowed me to see so many wonderful small towns in this beautiful country, like Sedona for it’s red rock formations, Page, Arizona for its gorgeous lake Powell and nearby Monument Valley. Sun Valley, Idaho, is a quaint town that is gorgeous in the summer, as is Jackson Hole, Wyoming, and Deer Valley, Utah. It…

--

--

Libby Shively McAvoy
Dancing Elephants Press

"HI" Writer, Personal Development and Relationship Coach specializing in Emotional Intelligence, Yoga Instructor, Mom, Speaker, traveler, & seeker