My Home Is Where Nature Lives

Annelise Lords
Dancing Elephants Press
4 min readApr 25, 2023

--

My favorite place to be is my home in my country. I am awakened every morning by a serenade from the birds living in my breadfruit and mango trees.

Joy, Inspiration, Spirituality, Wellness, and Positivity

In response to prompt 30 of 52 of DEP

#DEP #dancingelephantpress #writersaroundtheworld

My mango and breadfruit tree. Image by Annelise Lords

My favorite place to be is my home in my country. I am awakened every morning with a serenade from the birds living in my breadfruit and Bastard Julie Mango trees. My husband and I feed birds, so they visit often.

Image by Annelise Lords

My fruit trees bare over and over again in and off-season. I think it’s because I share all of my fruits with everyone who wants some. We didn’t plant these trees. They came with the property.

My sweetsop tree. Image by Annelise Lords

My Sweetsop tree, I planted myself more than twenty years ago. I planted a Soursop tree too, but it didn’t survive.

--

--