My Mother’s Turkey Schnitzel

In Response to Dancing Elephants Prompt 32 of 52

Allisonn Church
Dancing Elephants Press

--

Author’s photo

This is not a photo of my mother’s turkey schnitzel: this is a photo of chicken schnitzel with potato purée and sautéed greens, which my husband ordered from a local restaurant for one of our Covid-time date nights at home. It’s an outstanding restaurant, and I know that he enjoyed the meal.

But how could any schnitzel compete with my mother’s turkey schnitzel (particularly when served with a side of her Lyonnaise potatoes and green bean casserole)?

My mother is German-American and schnitzel is a heritage dish, but she has her own take on it (as mothers do). I won’t tell you her secrets, I’ll just tell you I love it. This was one of my favorite meals growing up and it has stood the test of time.

During my semester abroad in college, our program gave participants a “travel week” during which we were encouraged to explore some other destination that was now relatively more accessible to us than it had been from the U.S. I chose to visit Germany. Specifically, I chose to spend the week with my mother’s quilting penpal in Bavaria, a woman whom my mother had never actually met, but whom she “knew” from a history of letter writing.

This gave me the opportunity to try more authentic Wiener schnitzel (which is made with…

--

--

Allisonn Church
Dancing Elephants Press

⛅️ 🍃 www.wildchurchpoems.com 🍃 ⛅️ "A single sunbeam is enough to drive away many shadows." — Francis of Assisi