“Something No Kid Should Ever Have To Ask…”

My granddaughter turned to her parents the other night and asked: “Are people going to come hurt me because of my skin color?”

Photo by Michael Mims on Unsplash

Kids in America should never have to think thoughts like that. Not ever. No matter the color, race, religion…

That my granddaughter can pick up on the hatred and fear in this country and be worried, scared, enough to ask that question more than rankles my innards… know what I mean?

This angers me. And I’m angry with you, me, all of us! We ignore and ridicule younger generations. We stopped teaching them, at home and in our schools.

Far too many applaud (based in ignorance) where this country, and where our world, is now at.

Some are actively supporting and promoting hatred, discrimination, and racism, either through silence and inaction, or openly in support. You are hurting my kids and my grandkids. You are a part of my “WHY”.

We are a bi-racial family. My granddaughter is 9 years old and is the most beautiful, outgoing, friendly little princess in the world.

I am truly saddened and fearful of the world we are handing off to our kids and grandkids.

The words of my granddaughter have provided me an insight I had not considered… that of kids. All kids.

My granddaughters should never have to live with that fear. No child should ever have to live like that.

End the silence. End the fear. End the hatred. Give these kids back their young lives. Give them a future.

But how do we do that Boomer?

Here’s a thought… talk to your kids, grandkids, see what they think.

Kids (of all ages) have opinions. They are very capable of thought. They are smarter at times than most adults. All one has to do is consider Congress. (Not for long though. Thinking about Congress causes me nausea.)

Seriously, talk to your kids and grandkids. Ask! Ask what they think! Answer their questions. If you can’t, tell them you will find the answer. Make sure they are informed.

Eliminate their stress. Eliminate misunderstanding. Kids are not born racists. We make them so. They don’t support Congress, Republicans or Democrats. They are a clean slate.

Stop scribbling your jive on their clean slate!

Making sure they understand the world around them is not an easy task.

Photo by Andre Guerra on Unsplash

Face it. Most of us don’t even understand the world around us. But it’s still up to us to make sure they do.

Let them write on that clean slate by giving them the freedom to learn, and to grow, without YOUR prejudices. Without influence from you. Encourage them to know their history and their surroundings.

From today on… communicate with your kids and grandkids. Don’t leave ’em hanging on, looking, waiting… for answers they may never find.

Let them fill in their own clean slate without having to erase your BS.

--

--

JD's Stories From the Mountain ~
Dancing Elephants Press

I write non-fiction stories about My Life, My Journey with Prostate Cancer and Spirituality. My location: a mountain top in the Blue Ridge Mts.