Soul Mates: A Poem

It’s those little things

Garima Sharma
Dancing Elephants Press

--

Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

In a world of laughter and sarcasm,

We dismiss the idea of soul mates with enthusiasm.

But he surprises me with a serious tone,

Saying, “We aren’t soul mates, they’re just dumb, you’ve known.”

I call him an idiot, but he kisses my head,

Asking for today’s date, filling me with dread.

He wants to ensure we never forget,

The day the universe brought us back, no regret.

I rest my head against his chest,

Wary of his strong approach, I jest.

He assures me it won’t scare me away,

Promising to whisper “I told you so” one day.

We laugh and talk, time flies by,

But I still have questions, I can’t deny.

As I yawn, I fight the urge to sleep,

Talking to him is a treasure I want to keep.

He leaves for water, then surprises me more,

Turning off the lamp, he spoons me, I adore.

It’s not what I expected, his intentions unclear,

But his presence brings comfort, no fear.

Wrapped in his arms, I feel safe and warm,

As he whispers, “I’ve never wanted to change your form.”

His touch is gentle, his words sincere,

I melt into his embrace, no need to steer.

With his cheek against mine, time stands still,

In this moment, nothing else matters, it’s a thrill.

In his arms, I find solace and peace,

A love that makes my worries release.

Hope you liked the poem.

Read this brilliant post on setting boundaries by Dancing Elephant author Libby Shively McAvoy

For those who have experienced the ache of the one that got away, “In Another Life” offers solace and a tender embrace. Through the power of words, each poem captures the essence of lost love, bringing forth a whirlwind of emotions- deep longing, nostalgic yearning, and heartfelt reflections. Dive into these pages, embrace the tender emotions, and allow the verses to whisper their heartfelt messages of remembrance. Discover that although love can be ephemeral, its imprint lasts forever, guiding us toward a future bright with possibility. https://a.co/d/dgxH0E4

--

--

Garima Sharma
Dancing Elephants Press

Words on self-love, self-worth, finding magic in everyday moments and trusting you are wildly deserving.