The Benefits of Difficult Decisions

When faced with major obstacles, it may be Divine intervention.

Libby Shively McAvoy
Dancing Elephants Press

--

Photo by Envato Elements Purchased Image License 2FL3UQ8MDC

We make choices constantly each day, most of which are fairly minor but still impact our lives over time. For example, am I going to have a Big Mac and Coke for lunch or Hummus with veggies and water? Obviously, if I ate fast food and sugary drinks daily, my health would decline. Major decisions, especially involving other people, are more challenging to make. Sometimes, these challenges can paralyze progress. Making the decision, even an unpopular one, allows everyone forward momentum.

Ironically, sometimes we make difficult decisions, but in hindsight, the decision was made for us by someone else.

When making difficult decisions, be empathic for the other people involved and do it for the right reasons. Avoid making decisions out of spite or for revenge.

Have You Ever Made a Tough Decision That Positively Impacted Your Life?

I have. Mine may not look like many people’s tough decisions, but it changed the course of my life. Last year, I pressed charges against the man I loved after he abused me. It was an extremely difficult decision. Heartbreaking. Yet, I made it very quickly, and I have no regrets. The police, who responded to…

--

--

Libby Shively McAvoy
Dancing Elephants Press

"HI" Writer, Personal Development and Relationship Coach specializing in Emotional Intelligence, Yoga Instructor, Mom, Speaker, traveler, & seeker