Tune Me…In My Own Essence

A song for the master painter

Divya Goswami
Dancing Elephants Press
2 min readSep 21, 2023

--

Oh painter !
With your subtle detailed eye
Paint me in my most natural hue.

“Singing with the master painter.” Picture of the author from her travels to Maheshwar, MP, India.

Peaks of blemishes
Thorns of imperfections
Stones of mistakes
Waves of judgement

Lift that brush bold, bright and true.

Wild as the grass
Delicate as the butterfly
Fierce like the hurricane
Dark as the shadow

Add in me a thread from the many characters in you.

Reshaped each day like the cloud,
Yet timed in the pursuit of the sunrise and sunset
Holding the thunder, rain, and storm
Yet rhythmic like the rivers, raindrops, and rainbow

Tune this instrument to the perpetual change within you.

With my own love and desire,
With my own wins and wrongs,
With my own joys and tears,
With my own imagination and mental gyre,

Smear me with the ambivalence of formless and patterns.

Fill me with the optimistic green of tender shoots,
Give me the purple shades of the bruises bygone,
Give me the open pages from the blue skies,
Smudge the colours of the blooms into a blurry grizzle,

Colour me each day in a shade your palette is yet to create.

Paint me so that I stand firm like a mountain,
Paint me so that I fly with strength in my wings,
Paint me so that I write my songs with the whistling winds,
Paint me so that I continue growing deeper than the roots,

Illustrate me anew with each creation in every moment.

Oh painter!
Paint me

With my own passion
Dipped in my own ink
Formed by my own words
Danced by own meaning
Printed to reflect the real me
Awake to the essence of the spirit within me

Paint me in my own eye, so true my painter!

Thank you Dancing Elephants Press for this beautiful platform of sharing.

Grateful for the wonderful friends who have continued to inspire me since the start of my medium journey. Dr. Preeti Singh Dr. Gabriella Korosi Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles Shameem Anwar augmented man Thief Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar Neera Handa Dr Sahil Patel

Katherine Myrestad this has got be the most favourite work of mine… the story, the poem, the bond, love, love and more love.

The author is an Indian Classical Dancer, Performer, Educator, Storyteller, Writer and TEDx Speaker. For more of her work, do follow her on Instagram and Facebook.

--

--

Divya Goswami
Dancing Elephants Press

Kathak Exponent & Educator. Artistic Director & Owner of Divyakala. Writer & Storyteller about Indian Heritage, Arts & Life. TEDx Speaker. National Awardee.