FATHER’S DAY

What if he’s not ever going to be there for you?

Is that even possible? He is your father.

DR Rawson - The Possibilist
Dancing Elephants Press
7 min readJun 17, 2024

--

Collage created by the Author using Pixelmator Pro

I had just finished jumping off the third-story balcony of the local Texas Best Western when the Red Cross found me. I swam over to the pool’s edge, and they asked me to get out of the pool and sit down.

Me: “What’s this about?”

Red Cross: “We regret to inform you that your father passed away three hours ago near his home in California, under a Doctor’s care. He died of a massive heart attack.”

Me: (trying to desperately sober up) “My dad is only forty-two years old. I don’t understand.”

Red Cross: “We don’t know anything more about your dad’s death. We’re sorry. “We’ve arranged for a flight home in two hours. We’ve already notified you’re Commanding Officer, and they’ve granted you two weeks’ leave.”

I went to my hotel room, packed one bag, and left with the Red Cross for the Amarillo Air Base for my plane ride home. Only a few other Airmen were on the plane besides the flight crew. We landed at the Air Base in Riverside, and the Red Cross met the plane and drove me home.

I don’t remember much about the flight. I cried all the way home. I kept thinking, and I had more I wanted to say. We’re…

--

--

DR Rawson - The Possibilist
Dancing Elephants Press

A retired serial entrepreneur, writer, author, and editor committed to the Human Intelligence movement. Please join us.