Writing 101: Why Do You Write?

A new series on writing

Umme Salma
Dancing Elephants Press
2 min readJan 2, 2023

--

Image created by Author through Canva.com

Hello dear writers,

I am introducing a brand new series on writing, titled writing 101, which will cover wiring on writing, author branding, writing collaboration, interviews, etc., depending on your love and support.

What could be the best topic to start other than the purpose of writing?

Why do I write?

Today, in the new, fresh morning, I sit and reflect on why I write.

My answer is a bit different than last year as I have hopefully grown both as a person and as a writer. My reason for writing also has evolved though the core remains the same.

I write to grow each day as a human being first. Then, I want to grow as one of the most loved storytellers. Writing is like nurturing my soul so its fragrance can touch the readers’ life.

I write to gift experiences to my readers by evoking their emotions through my storytelling. I write so that even when they stop reading and leave, my stories create a home in their hearts.

“Always give them (readers) a takeaway. Even if that is a smile on their face, or a tear rolling down their cheek. You have to give them a part of yourself.”- Leonard Tillerman.

I write to collect smiles and donate to charity. My mission is to better the lives of underprivileged children.- Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles.

I write because I desire to be a writer whose words serve to educate, elucidate, and till the fertile ground of the reader’s imagination.- Pene Hodge

I write to transform my boring life into a fulfilling one- Winston.

Before coming into the land of writing, we must know why we write. We must know our purpose for writing.

Writing is a lifelong journey for a writer. We should not travel this journey without purpose and make it meaningless.

I believe most of you know why you love to write. Please write your reason in the comment box.

Writing can also create magic. I would love to shout out a story by one of the most popular writers and Editors Dr. Preeti Singh.

So, let's create magic together and relish the beautiful moments.

I would conclude by sharing a poem by one of the amazing poets I met on this platform Neera Handa Dr

--

--