Your Colors in Life are Different Than Mine

Dancing Elephants prompt 6 of 52

Kerrie Gutierrez-Diaz
Dancing Elephants Press
3 min readNov 22, 2022

--

Photo by bridget bartos on Unsplash

I love how different countries and religions celebrate different days and holidays in their culture. Makes me sad that I think the US has lost a lot of its roots and Americans do not celebrate their culture like their past generations use to.

Celebration in Japan Photo by SUPERIDOL 🐈 on Unsplash

Japan and other Asian countries always have such colors with their lanterns and the flags they have up all over. The colors are mesmerizing.

Christmas Market Photo by Diogo Palhais on Unsplash

In many other countries, they have Christmas Markets. They have the town come together and some of the trees I have seen are beyond amazing.

I wish we Americans celebrated like other countries. Our mix of different races and having to give rights to other people's cultures in turn I think we lost our own trying to respect other people. Sure over the years, people complained and it made people shy away from their culture and traditions which is so sad.

The colors I see here in the US now are just the joyous times I can get out and enjoy life. When I enjoy life I feel the color all around me.

apple tree growing its flowers before apples grow picture by Kerrie Gutierrez-Diaz

This is how I see color in my life. Not just the green of the grass or the flowers in the tree. I see the beauty in all of it.

Lake sunset by Kerrie Gutierrez-Diaz

When I see the orange in the sky like this, shows me that tomorrow will be a beautiful day. Even if it is snowing, it can be a beautiful day. I love all four seasons and the chance to get to enjoy them.

Christmas in Mexico Photo by Jonas Dücker on Unsplash

Even in Mexico small towns will get together and celebrate Christmas by baking a small baby inside a cake and they go around to each house and have to find out which house has the baby in the cake and the one that has the baby will celebrate a meal at their home.

Our towns are too big for that. Well, I have three other houses in my small town and I am the only house that has a tree up and any decorations. So I do not think anything like that would happen here.

Color in life can brighten up anyone's day. Just got to look for the color in the things you enjoy. Life will always shine brightly from the love you share in the things that make you happy.
©Kerrie Gutierrez-Diaz 2022 All Rights Reserved

If you are enjoying what your reading, Please support me with a coffee https://ko-fi.com/kerrie

--

--

Kerrie Gutierrez-Diaz
Dancing Elephants Press

Mother, Wife, Grandmother, I am on this writing journey like many of us here on Medium. Working on an ebook about one of my many interests in 2023.