How It Starts

Wenqin Chen
Jeté on Mars
Published in
1 min readFeb 11, 2016

It’s been a year since my left knee started to hurt during a ballet class, and five months since the injury completed stopped me from dancing. The ballet studio used to my paradise and asylum, but now it feels so far away.

Today for the hundredth time since my injury, I thought of ballet and how much I missed it. But I have also come to the realization that my injury may never allow me to return to the barre. I cried, quietly. I became scared of a life without ballet, without the freedom of movement.

Then I thought there must be other ways to continue dancing, without physically moving. Dance is larger than the time one spends in a studio, or the height one leaps into the air. I want to find other ways to feel close to dance, and I want use this blog to document my exploration starting from today.

Photo Courtesy of Christina Wald

--

--

Wenqin Chen
Jeté on Mars

I’m a dancer and designer. I use this space to write about these two passions. You can learn more about me at my website wenqinchen.net