Dance Story

A Toe Catastrophe During Dance Class

Though warned about not wearing proper footwear, not everyone took heed

Vera-Marie Landi
Dancing My Way Through Life
5 min readApr 23, 2024

--

Picture of people’s legs dancing.
Photo by DDP on Unsplash

As always, I warned my students ahead of class or during the first class to wear appropriate footwear to avoid accidents.

The types of accidents I am referring to are: falling off a pair of high heels if you’re not a seasoned dancer; having your foot or toe stepped on; tripping over the front of a sandal because it’s longer than your toe; or having your shoe fall off in the middle of a step.

When people are first learning to dance, there’s enough to worry about than fighting with your shoes. There are steps and patterns to learn, proper dance hold, posture, moving to the music, and more.

Many couples take one or two classes as they are about to go on a cruise, or they have a wedding coming up, or another occasion and were given choices of the types of shoes that would work while learning, rather than having to buy an expensive dance shoe.

I always told them to start with the lowest heel or comfortable shoe they own, something they could move around on with not much traction, so they’re concentrating on learning, not twisting their ankles on a shoe that’s too high or doesn’t allow turning.

--

--

Vera-Marie Landi
Dancing My Way Through Life

I'm retired, love spending time with family, writing, and working on 3 pubs: 'Dancing My Way Through Life,' 'Digging Up Bones,' and 'Women Who Use Tools.'