Coming Out of Retirement

I Felt I Lost My Identity When I Prematurely Retired from Dancing

I had become a shadow of my former self and felt I had lost my identity

Vera-Marie Landi
Dancing My Way Through Life
6 min readAug 8, 2023

--

I returned to dancing after I closed my studio out of boredom, lack of identity, and the need for exercise.
Photo by Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

Having been involved in the dance world for decades as a student, competitor, studio-owner, choreographer, aerobics instructor, and belly dancer, it was hard to change my life and walk away from all this — but I did.

I was sure I was ready for retirement until I saw the effect it had on me.

Part of the reason I thought I was ready was physical, some emotional, and some financial but I quickly discovered I made a mistake.

When I first started dancing it became more than a hobby. It was a lifestyle. Starting out at a studio where I took hundreds of classes then became a teacher myself both at the studio and other venues, my life was so filled with dancing it became a second full-time job.

New venue

That studio eventually changed hands and I ventured out on my own renting space wherever I could find it, increasing my classes to more venues, becoming a DJ giving lessons at parties, and more. I almost burned myself out until I retired from my day job.

--

--

Vera-Marie Landi
Dancing My Way Through Life

I'm retired, love spending time with family, writing, and working on 3 pubs: 'Dancing My Way Through Life,' 'Digging Up Bones,' and 'Women Who Use Tools.'