College basketball doesn’t interest me

Emily Dougherty
Dancing with 312
Published in
2 min readMar 26, 2018

No matter how many times I watch college basketball I cannot get myself to enjoy it. I only enjoy NBA games and the angst they draw out of me.

I have been a NBA fan since grade school and since then it has just stuck with me.

My first favorite team being the Detroit Pistons, and of course their Ben Wallace. Currently I have become a Philadelphia 76ers fan, mostly because of my boyfriend who is a diehard fan.

There’s just something about obsessing over a team that makes any good sport worth watching. Basketball is just one of those where when your favorite team is on nothing else matters at that moment.

College basketball for me is just too dull, all the players are trying to get to the NBA or end up in the NBA anyway. I would rather just wait until they get drafted then see how they progress over time.

I know it’s beyond weird that I don’t enjoy watching college ball but since the level of skill is just not as enhanced like pro ball I losing my attention quick.

Maybe if I was able to experience the game live I would enjoy it more rather than just watching it on television.

The only good thing about college basketball is that most of the fans are college students that are passionate about their college and want their teams to win. So there is a large following behind them similar to NBA fans.

Although since I have gotten back into watching basketball because of my busy schedule I could try to give college ball a chance once again. Maybe if I’m able to build a connection with the players or the audience I will enjoy the game more.

But for now, GO SIXERS.

--

--