Fake fantasy fans

Sam Sandler
Dancing with 312
Published in
2 min readMar 24, 2018

It’s March which means every Tom Dick and Harry has bracket and is freaking out over the NCAA tournament. Call me old fashioned but I think it is ridiculous how someone who has not followed a team the whole year can justify rooting hardcore for just one month.

While I do think it gets more casual fans into sporting events they wouldn’t normally watch; I think it clouds the judgement of real fans.

I am not going to sit here on my laptop and try to define what a real fan is. However someone rooting for financial gain and financial gain only, rubs me the wrong way. Sports are such a beautiful escape from every day life. The last thing I want to do is put my money into the equation.

I personally believe fantasy football is a bigger detriment to the sport than brackets are to NCAA basketball. Two years ago I rooted against my favorite football team, the New York Giants, because I would rather win money.

I was naive and so clouded by greed that I forgot what it truly meant to root for my team and my city. I had somehow forgotten the excitement that two Super Bowls gave me when I was teen. I had to look myself in the mirror and realize what was really important.

Every day fantasy sports are growing and growing. With Fan Duel and Draft Kings gaining traction more and more people are buying into fantasy sports. I am not saying don’t play fantasy sports. I am saying to be careful and to remember why you love the game you’re watching.

Sports bring people together to form a sense of camaraderie because we have a common goal. Fantasy sports make games against teams you don’t root for way more exciting. Keep playing fantasy sports but just remember to give your hometown team as much love as you give the waiver wire every Tuesday.

--

--