I almost bleached my hair for the New York Mets

Zachary Florio
Dancing with 312
Published in
2 min readMar 26, 2018

The Mets bleach craze of 2016 claimed many, many victims.

This idea seemed so cool at the time. All the big guys were doing it — Blevins, Cespedes, Cabrera, and Reyes. I wanted to be just like them, and to potentially be their good luck charm.

A few close friends of mine decided to pull the trigger and bleach their hair blonde during the midst of the Mets 2016 playoff run, days before their Wild Card game against the San Francisco Giants.

But suddenly, after all that bleaching, the Mets lost to the Giants, and their season was over.

My friends, who had just recently bleached their hair for a baseball team, had to watch the team lose and wake up the next day with regret growing from their heads.

That’s why I’m glad I never did it, though I came extremely close to.

I couldn’t bear the feeling of waking up the day after that loss, looking myself in the mirror, and seeing defeat and sorrow at the top of my head.

One of my friends who had done the deed immediately dyed his hair black again, because he felt that exact way, full of regret, when he saw himself that morning.

To my friends who had bleached their hair, I’m sorry I didn’t join you, but I’m glad I was able to hide my sorrows through the rest of the postseason.

--

--