March For Our Lives

Ryan Zalduondo
Dancing with 312
Published in
2 min readMar 25, 2018

This is all my opinion, so anything I say moving forward comes from the heart on the very important topic of gun violence. I understand there are a lot of arguments coming from both sides of the spectrum. But, with so many school shootings happening recently, Republicans and Democrats need to get on the same page about this. Whether you are for or against the second amendment, the NRA, or guns in general, something needs to change.

The March For Our Lives took place in many cities all over the country today, which is pretty awesome. People of all ages, shapes and sizes, from all different backgrounds banded together to protest gun violence in America. The coolest part about it is that it was led by kids. Like, actual kids. Leading a national movement against guns! That is a million times better than what I was doing at 14 or 15 years old (playing Call of Duty every day).

This movement was really pushed over the edge with the Parkland shooting, bringing to the surface so many smart and passionate kids from that high school that are pushing for the end of guns in America. I, for one, strongly support everything these kids stand for.

Starting with school shootings, I have a little brother who is still in high school. I don’t ever bring it up because it sometimes feels like an irrational fear, but it is pretty scary imagining someone shooting up the high school I went to with my little brother in there. With every shooting that goes by in a high school, I cannot imagine how parents feel everyday sending their kids to school. As proven by Sandy Hook, no kids are safe no matter how old they are. This starts and ends with access to guns. I understand the argument that people will find ways to get their hands on guns, and they will, but making them easy to get it just flat out stupid. For those that need a gun to hunt, I say get a new hobby. If you want it to protect yourself, lock the door and grab a knife if you want to be safe.

This has become so much for than the second amendment. I don’t know how it’s possible for anyone to keep ignoring the problem at hand. Blame it on mental health, because that surely plays a part. But, take away the guns and they’ll have a much harder time to shoot anyone. The volume of people who feel this strongly and more showed themselves today by the thousands. It is going to be impossible to keep ignoring this, and those who do are really going to feel the consequences on November 6, 2018.

--

--