March mentor: an ode to Stan Fischler, the ultimate teacher

Sam Sandler
Dancing with 312
Published in
2 min readMar 26, 2018

If you are a true New York hockey fan you know who Stan Fischler is.

If you’re looking for a full explanation of every aspect of his career, this is not the article for you. Go on Wikipedia if that is what you’re looking for.

The past two years I have had the pleasure to intern for Stan and I have learned a lot about hockey, life and heard a plethora of jokes. Sitting across a table from Stan while he dictates an article to you is an incredible experience. He will close his eyes and start recalling specific moments and events from hockey history.

He is the ultimate mentor because when he dictates to you it is not just about completing the article. Occasionally while I’m rushing to write every word, he’ll pause and ask me “Are you learning something?” The answer is always yes.

The unique vocabulary and style Stan uses is second to none. He uses words I have never heard before in my life. When he can sense that I am unfamiliar with a word he will have me pull out a dictionary and look the word up. This is what I mean by the ultimate mentor.

One time while riding the subway with Stan he told me about his experiences as an adjunct professor. He said “what’s a synonym for an adjunct professor?” He paused. Then he said “slavery.” Being the cheeky intern I was I said “what do you can an intern?” He smiles and says “slavery.” The two of us laughed and being the kiss-ass I was I told him I was the happiest slave ever and I wasn’t lying.

There are many light hearted moments during my time with Stan. He gives each intern individual attention and watches them grow. His paternal style makes you feel like a member of the Fischler family — the highest of honors.

Stan is a mensch by every definition of the word. During games he will interact with fans and never turn down a photo opportunity. He is truly a man of the people.

He is a walking hockey encyclopedia. He can fully describe moments from the 1940’s as if it was yesterday. His understanding for the evolution of the game is brilliant.

To really give you an idea of who Stan Fischler is, I will leave you with my favorite joke of his. “Here’s the worlds new fastest joke. A cannibal walks into a restaurant. He orders the waiter.”

Thank you Stan for all you have done for me as a mentor and even a friend. He is the ultimate teacher and the hockey world will miss him.

--

--