March: Where Memories Are Made

Matt Moran
Dancing with 312
Published in
2 min readMar 26, 2017

--

So I guess I had it coming.

I write a story about how the magic has disappeared in this year’s tournament. No incredible finishes. No buzzer beaters.

Until Chris Chiozza sunk a three pointer as time expired in overtime. Sending the Gators to the Elite Eight and ending Wisconsin’s season.

It’s moment that I will never forget. Not because I wanted to see the Gators win, but how the final moments occurred and what I was doing myself at the time.

I was in my living room, watching the game with one of my housemates, Dalton. He’s actually a fellow classmate. But in a game where we barely payed attention to most of it. We were glued to the our tv screen in that overtime period.

After a late three pointer to send it to the extra period. It seemed like the Badgers had all the momentum. They were up by five with one minute and nine seconds left.

Dalton and I started to talking about Wisconsin’s incredible run as it looked like they were about to move on.

Emphasis on the looked like.

The Gators quickly tied up the game. Wisconsin had the ball with the shot clock off.

I remember distinctly saying to Dalton, “they need to make sure they take the final shot here.”

Nigel Hayes drove to the lane with still more than five seconds left. He was fouled. But the clock still read 4.0 seconds left.

“They left too much time,” I said.

Hayes made both free throws. What came next was unbelievable. We watched that ball float in the air in what seemed like it an entirety.

Swish.

Dalton and I looked at each other for a second of bewilderment. Immediately following was moments of utter chaos.

It’s moments like that, you just do not forget.

So I like to formally apologize to March Madness. I am sorry I doubted you. Those kind of games and those kind of moments is what sets you apart from any other sporting event.

Thank you for the memories that have been made and the ones that will continue to develop.

--

--

Matt Moran
Dancing with 312

SUNY Oswego '17, Broadcasting Major, Extracurriculars, I'm just sayin' and that's the thing are my major catchphrases.