My mixed reaction to Caeleb Dressel’s 100 free

Natalie Brophy
Dancing with 312
Published in
1 min readMar 26, 2017

Florida Gator Caeleb Dressel set new NCAA and American records in the 100 free Saturday night at the NCAA men’s Div. I Swimming and Diving Championship meet.

He annihilated the rest of the field, touching the wall in 40.00 seconds, nearly a second ahead of the no. 2 finisher.

FOURTY FLAT IN THE 100 FREE!!!

I was in disbelief when I heard about that swim.

The first thing I thought was:

He was so close! So close to becoming the first man under 40 seconds in the 100 free. He was one one-hundredth of a second away.

But then I thought:

That’s the fastest 100 freestyle time ever and he dropped almost half a second from his previous best time. Plus, Dressel is only a sophomore. He has two more years to slip under that 40 mark.

YASS CAELEB DRESSEL YASS!!

--

--

Natalie Brophy
Dancing with 312

Journalism major at SUNY Oswego | Copy Editor @TheOswegonian | Competitive swimmer | Cat lover | Boy band enthusiast | #BuffaLove