NBA Playoff Picture Taking Shape

Anthony Twomley
Dancing with 312
Published in
2 min readMar 30, 2018

The NBA’s regular season is coming to a close, and with that we are getting a clear view of the playoffs and which seed each team will be. With another Steph Curry injury and Kevin Durant still recovering, the Rockets are almost a lock to take the number 1 seed in the West. Along with that Houston just keeps rolling, they topped the Pelicans tonight winning their franchise record 59th game and their 25th in their last 26th overall.

In the East, Toronto holds a 4.5 game lead over Boston for the number 1 seed with 9 games to go. Kyrie Irving’s injury similar to Steph, should aid Toronto in locking up home court in the Eastern Conference playoffs. However, after seeing them lose a big lead to Cleveland a couple of nights ago, skepticism has come back about whether or not they can win in the playoffs. Lebron and Cleveland have been their kryptonite, and I think again Cleveland will triumph over the NBA’s lone Canadian team.

While I believe Toronto’s seeding really won’t help them in advancing to their franchise’s first NBA finals, I do believe Houston is primed to beat Golden State this season. First off, they won season series against the Warriors and their lineup has been virtually unstoppable this season. On top of that, Game 7 in Houston would be the difference in the series, had the Warriors locked up the top spot then I would give them the edge but Houston has been special this season and I think this is their year to take home the title.

When June comes I think Lebron will again will this team to the finals and James Harden will defeat his playoff demons. A Cleveland-Houston final however wouldn’t be too entertaining because the series would not go longer than 5 games. Houston is too good and there is no way Cleveland will be able to win 4 games let alone 2. These are just my predictions though, definitely not the smartest source of information, and I’m picking with my heart over my brain here. I digress, let’s just enjoy the rest of this season and hope for an amazing postseason come April through June.

--

--