Nisky Grads United Once Again

Robert Palatsky
Dancing with 312
Published in
3 min readMar 26, 2018
Niskayuna graduates Lucas “Lou” Quinn (#19 for Syracuse- in orange) and Mike D’Amario (#10 for UVA- in white) catch up with this picture from

I’ve known Lucas Quinn and Mike D’Amario for years. Mike graduated with me in 2014 and is a senior for the Virginia Cavaliers Lacrosse team. When I saw that UVA lacrosse was playing Syracuse, you can bet my attention was sparked. Not only is Oswego so close to Syracuse but I knew that it was a chance to see another Niskayuna graduate, Lucas Quinn to catch up with his old buddy, D’Mario. Quinn was a freshman during mine and D’Amario’s Senior Year. He had already committed as an 8th grader to play lacrosse at Syracuse.

Everyone knew that year how great they were or could be on the field, but I was lucky enough to get to know them both as people. I was fortunate enough to have classes with both of them and film for their team for a year. I can tell you, they are two of the nicest human beings I’ve ever met.

D’Mario was one of the guys on the lacrosse team I clicked with the most. Whenever I had insecurities, thinking I was not doing a good enough job filming or I was just having a bad day, Mike would listen to me vent and give me advise to get me through it. I remember one day when I was contemplating how to talk to Niskayuna’s head coach, Mike Vorgang. D’Amario listened to me discuss my issue and advised me to talk to “Coach”. Somehow, this gave me the confidence to settle my issue and I now look up to Coach Vorgang and thank Mike for giving me the courage to speak to him.

When it comes to Lou, as we called Quinn, he was such a funny guy and wanted everyone to have as much fun as he was. I can also remember so many times, seeing Lou in resource room, not because he was a resource kid, but because many of his friends had resource. Anytime he would go in their, everyone would start laughing and have a good time.

Lou was also fortunate enough to win the Class A State Championship the year after I graduated. It was such a thrilling moment for the school as we had been a New York State lacrosse powerhouse for so many years but could never seem to get that elusive state title for our amazing coach.

When the team finally won, I went to the school to welcome the bus back. When I found Lou and congratulated him. He told me that the title wasn’t just for him and his team, it was for everyone that has ever been associated with the lacrosse team. He thanked me and gave me a hug. It was awesome.

As it all comes full circle, I wish I could have seen D’Mario and Quinn live in Syracuse. D’Amario scored three goals in UVA’s 12–11 loss to Syracuse. As I Nisky grad, it meant so much to me to see my guys, united on the same field again.

--

--