Number 2 Pick: Don’t “F” it Up

Robert Palatsky
Dancing with 312
Published in
3 min readMar 26, 2018

Every year I watch the NFL Draft with the hope that my New York Giants choose a first round pick that I will approve of and most of the time, I find myself scratching my head wondering “What the hell were they thinking”. Prime example is the 2016 NFL Draft.

I knew the giants needed a cornerback, but did they really have to reach for Eli “freaking” Apple. He’s a late first rounder at best. He only jumped up because the Giants were desperate for a cornerback.

Watch video:

What the hell were they thinking?!!

The Giants did the same thing in 2015, when they took Erick Flowers who is as quick as a snail. To make matters worse, they passed on Todd Gurley. Who does that? That year they needed a running back and because of this lapse in judgement, they still do.

This leads me to this year’s draft. The Giants need so much help, but you need to be smart with the second overall pick. I know many people think the Giants need to either take a franchise quarterback or trade down. That’s dumb. I believe we already have Eli Manning’s successor. His name is Davis Webb. I also hate this year’s quarterback options. Rosen has some major injury and character concerns, at least in my opinion. Darnold will probably be off the board, and Mayfield has some character concerns and is a little undersized to take a chance on the second overall pick. Honestly, Mayfield reminds me of a more talented version of Johnny Manziel, Look how he turned out.

I say, go for the home run. Take your franchise running back, Saquon Barkley, who is arguably the greatest running back prospect we’ve ever scene. He can cut inside and outside and catch the ball out of the backfield. He’s not the best pass blocker, but he is a willing blocker. If the comparisons to Barry Sanders are true, this kid is going to be an all time great.

Watch this kid Run

I will also say that Barkley isn’t your only option. Since the Giants just traded Jason Pierre Paul today for almost nothing, they could use another edge rusher. I would be ok with them taking Bradley Chubb from NC State. He’s a big, powerful kid, and from what I’ve seen in interviews, he’s a great, hardworking person on and off the field. Did I mention his dad is a former NFL player? Where have I heard that before? Oh yeah, a guy named Odell Beckham. Look how that turned out?

watch the Beast feast

I also understand that the Giants need lots of help on the offensive line. I think they could make things interesting if they took guard prospect Quenton Nelson from Notre Dame. He’s a very big man who can also move guys very well in the run game, maybe even clear the way the Giants to draft a running back in the second or third round. It worked for the saints, kinda. They drafted the defensive Rookie of the Year in the first round, Marshon Lattimore, and the offensive Rookie of the Year in the third round, Alvin Kamara.

#56 is a Bully- #manamongstboys

All I know is that I don’t wanna be watching TV during the season and see my team lose 13 games. Like I said before, the Giants have the second overall pick. I now speak directly to general manager Dave Gettleman, don’t “F” it up!

--

--