Time to call it.

Dalton Sargent
Dancing with 312
Published in
2 min readMar 24, 2017

Ladies and Gentleman, it’s been a fun March Madness. The time has come though. The heartbeat moniter gave a slight pulse until tonight. At 10:14 PM, with West Virginia not able to beat Gonzaga, it’s time to call it. The bracket is busted.

Sometimes you just need to accept the reality that this year wasn’t your year. If your like me, it’s time to look to the future. Also maybe make a few day cushion for sulking about how you should’ve done better. Hey, keep you’re head up, there’s always next year.

Here’s a few takeaways from looking at my bracket and what I have learned.

  1. If a team has lost 1 game all year, no matter their tournament track record or what conference they’re in, take them more seriously. I had Gonzaga losing in the round of 32 to Vanderbilt(We’ll address them in a few moments) or Northwestern. I thought either of them could do the job, turns out not even West Virginia could. We have to wait and see if anyone can take them down.
  2. Everyone has the one team they think is gonna make the Cinderella run. Never pick 2 Cinderellas. Too many princesses, too much heartbreak. This year, I thought maybe Vandy had a shot after seeing how well they played Florida all year. Turns out that didn’t mean anything. The second Cinderella was Wichita State. The Shockers. I thought they would bring the shock once again. They had their chance late against Kentucky, but it wasn't mean to be. My 2 Cinderellas barely had time to dance.
  3. I think I have become a West Virginia fan. Last year, I had a lot of confidence in them to win it all, but they got bounced in the first round by Stephen F. Austin. This year, I had them in the National Championship game once again. This time they would be on the losing end to the Kansas Jayhawks, who I'm still confident in as I write this. 15 minutes from now, I may be singing a different tune.

Those are the initial takeaways at first glance. This year was a bad year for my brackets, hopefully the lesson is learned for next season.

--

--