Why This Draft Class Could be Better than 1983 and 2004 for Quarterbacks

Ryan Furness
Dancing with 312
Published in
3 min readMar 22, 2018

There are a lot of NFL fans and analysts and “draft experts” trying to figure out who ends up going where and at what pick. This also takes into account if teams trade up or down. I feel as if the trades are not done yet, as the Buffalo Bills are looking to jump up to 5 or higher to guarantee a quarterback, which doesn’t make sense now that they have AJ McCarron.

The QB’s in the draft are known as “The Big Four.” Sam Darnold out of USC, Josh Rosen out of UCLA, Josh Allen out of Wyoming, and Baker Mayfield out of Oklahoma. There are others as well, like Lamar Jackson out of Louisville, Luke Faulk from Washington State, Mason Rudolph from Oklahoma State, and even Kyle Lauletta from Richmond could all be taken in the first two rounds. I have watched film/highlights on all these guys, and I can say that I would be comfortable taking a lot of these guys in the top 5.

Starting with the Big Four, I would be comfortable with taking any of these guys as my number one pick.

Sam Darnold participated in USC’s Pro Day yesterday and I read a few articles that him throwing well in the rain, might have moved him up to the number one pick. If he goes somewhere like Cleveland or the Giants that play in wet weather, it might play into his advantage. His ball security is his biggest question mark, but I feel that can be fixed and he can overcome that negative.

Josh Rosen is an interesting one for me. He has played some great games, like their comeback over Texas A&M, and he’s had some shaky games, like the 3 picks in a loss to Arizona. He can make a lot of throws, and he is quite mobile but he needs a year to sit and learn in my opinion. He should probably start in a year or two and will be a stud in the league for awhile.

Josh Allen from Wyoming is probably the best QB in this draft. He is strong, a great pocket passer, he has a cannon for an arm, and can make throws into tight windows. Although he didn’t play for a big program at Wyoming, but he played big when he needed to. His mobility is what strikes me the most and he can escape the pocket easily and still make throws. He reminds me of Alex Smith in that he doesn’t turn the ball over.

Baker Mayfield is the most polarizing player in this draft. There have been comparisons to Johnny Manziel, due to his off the field issues where he got arrested. I feel he can put that aside and become a very good if not great quarterback in the NFL. He is ore of a system quarterback, where he needs the right schemes to be successful. His arm is so effortless he can make all the throws as well, and can fit balls into windows I have never seen before.

All of these guys could be taken in the first 5 picks, and they should all be starting within 2 years of the draft. I feel as if you cannot go wrong with anyone of these players. They would all be ready to start Week One if they need to and do quite well. I’m just interested like everyone else to see where they get taken in the draft.

--

--