15 things past lovers have said to me

Sokunbi Adetoyese
Danfomatic
Published in
2 min readMar 13, 2017
Past Lives and Reincarnation by Ying Wong, 2010

on heartbreaks

i wear my heart on a sleeve so I can bleed out in peace.

if there is nothing to hide, there will be nothing to lose

on drugs and sex

of what use is the temple of a God that doesn’t bring you to your knees?

tell me, what’s the point of love that doesn’t kill you?

on faith and religion

if love is peace,

then hope is destruction.

on light and darkness

“aren’t we all pure of heart,

but ill of intent?”

on when we stop being in love

you will get a congratulatory post card,

every time you fail to replace me.

on letting go

hold on, like petrichor in the summer,

nostalgia is a drunken liar,

there’s nothing but regret in the past.

on forgiveness

the infolding of a bloomed rose

is the sin of the setting sun.

neither of them are at fault

on self confidence

be like the summer rain.

unpredictable, sun-kissed and

ethereal.

on sadness and recovery

cry,

if you must,

in the winter.

under a cold shower

until your skin wrinkles.

if you must punish your soul,

might as well wash away your sins.

on (true) happiness

cocaine.

On growing up

make no mistake,

everything that begins must end.

on fate and predestination

if we must all die,

then we must all live.

on if I’ll ever be a writer

at least you tried.

on if she loves me:

yes I do stupid,

hush now.

--

--

Sokunbi Adetoyese
Danfomatic

dope as a motherfucking acid trip. fire starter at ARTISH