A short tale of missing things

Hazel Stones
Danfomatic
Published in
3 min readMar 13, 2017

On first day I bringing master him tea, I is sure that I had serving him with a teaspoon and saucer like mother had teaching me as child before she go. I is surprise when I had summoning by master and scolding for not bringing one along with tea. I is trying to get another one but master wouldst not letting me.

Forget it worm, it ruins the taste anyway”. He is spit the words out while he turn him tea with him pinky finger on right hand. It most peculiar thing me saw. What type of man do it? I don’t knowing or care. I is simply here to do job of mine but the thing have made me a-wary of him.

Over next few days, I noticing that spoons is continue to disappear in master hand. I having half a mind to confronting master; I was run out of spoon very soon. I didn’t daring to try it. Master wouldst kicking me out on street like homeless oaf. I prefers to be homeful oaf so if master prefer to turning tea with him pinky finger then I close eye and let master turning tea with him pinky finger.

I have stop to bringing teaspoon along with Master tea. Master smile with me more now. He don’t looking like he wouldst kicking me out on streets like homeless oaf. Master like to say “oaf”; It is him that I is learning the words. I don’t asking for what it mean but I knowing it is bad things because the day I try to turning him tea with my pinky finger, he shout the word real louds and throwing flask at me. The flask is hitting me in head and making my head to grow and pain.

On last day I bringing master him tea, him is sick in the bed. I bringing only tea and saucer so I is surprise when master is asking me for where is the spoon. I telled him we run out of spoon but he knowing that I is lie. I have guilty in me so I goes and bringing spoon for sick master because I is not liking to be lie. I putting the spoon in teacup and is turning him tea. I see that master is smile so I is happy. I is drop the spoon on side table of bed.

When I is turning to talk to master, him eye is closing like he has sleeped off. Master don’t move again like ugly statue in yard front of house. I starting to shake master and cries like oaf but him not move. I knowing he has dead because this are how father is being like ugly statue in yard front of house when he has dead too.

I is poison master tea. Now Master is never call me oaf no more. I is never bringing tea and saucer. I is leaving master house to live on streets. People have coming to carry master away and I is carry my things outing of house. I is homeless but not oaf. I is not oaf because master is not kick me out on streets, I leaves by my own; So I is not oaf. I have searching the house for all of spoons that is disappearing in master hand but they is not here. Ghosting of master have carry them away; I knowing it because that is what mother telled me when father coins is disappearing after he has dead.

I is sadding for not find the spoons but maybe I is not meant to be knowing why they disappearing. Maybe I is never meant to be knowing. As I is looking back at master house and ugly statue in yard front of house for last time and walks away, tears is fall from my eye.

--

--