Black and yellow

Abubakar Oshomah Abdulwahab
Danfomatic
Published in
2 min readJan 25, 2017

Wiz Khalifa’s song might be the first thing on your mind when you hear the words “Black and yellow”.

I won’t blame you. The song was groovy. I grooved to it too. But have you ever wondered what it meant to people in places like Lagos? Well, it’s more than a song here. They are the colours of the city.

Black is a colour I personally feel comfortable with. Being a black man is more than a thing of pride to me. It’s like an adventure. The world against you but you still manage to pull major strings? The colour black has been etched into my identity as a person. And for that I can’t reject it.

Lagos gives me that grit I need to stand firm regardless of what comes my way.

Black is also grim. It is known to represent death. As grim as that sounds, that’s what Lagos is all about. Death of dreams you’ve harboured about making it big in the commercial city. The death of your peace of mind. That cannot save you. Death if you find your self in the wrong place at the wrong time.

But yellow. Yellow is the opposite of black in Lagos. Yellow is life in Lagos. Yellow is movement. Yellow is white that has been polluted with enough dirt to make it exciting. Yellow is toxic. Toxic liquor that keeps these drivers agile. Makes them feel alive. They’ll rain curses on you once given the chance. They don’t waste time. Yellow is happy. That smiley on your phone? It’s yellow for a reason. In Lagos it serves the same purpose. Sun kissed olopa smiling at you after you’ve handed him some green.

Lagos is volatile with everything. I love it for that reason. This reason has made me capture it the best way I can. Through words, photos and art.

The world is your gallery. Admire the pieces. Capture them if you can.

--

--

Abubakar Oshomah Abdulwahab
Danfomatic

Part human, part mutant, full time go getter. Just trying to make sense of everyday. May drop musings about life once in a while.