Kaidagamu

Mustapha Rufai
4 min readFeb 23, 2017

--

Not the final fun-tier.

Escape this frontier we must, the fun-tier is waiting.

Kaidagamu: a word so daring.

Our paths crossed as the truck it is inscribed on sped past mine, hustling me out of my deep thoughts. It continuing on a journey southbound as I looked out of this rickety car unmindful of the passengers. The road — a one way our driver had passed to protect us from the area boys we suspected were lurking in the bushes ahead, had potholes filled with sand. Clearly, it wasn't a smooth road.

In the midst of all these, the word called; it seemed tired of its current channel, and I quickly brought out my phone to scribble.

Of all the words on the truck, why did I have to notice you? Now you have jumped vessels and somehow you are following me home.

I have taken in an unknown companion and owning itself to me. But I know my phone is not your final fun-tier, I will drop you here on Medium. Feel free to stick to anyone on the weird wild web.

There is something crazy about being skillful at something. My best movie director is Wes Anderson. His style and script’s interpretation runs afoul of norm. When you experience his works, you can always tell there is a difference.

The art in his worlds rival arts in real life.

His impact on a story tells accurately on how much thought and time has been spent on perfecting his art. It doesn't matter how bad the scripts are, he wraps it with quality. His finesse touches every frame. I encountered one of his works and I had no choice but to hunt down others (ah! torrents suffered). Fantastic Mr Fox blew me away, motion picture animated like no other.

And I am waiting patiently for his next release because The Grand Budapest Hotel is not his final fun-tier.

I am thinking “I am in control.” But the reality is Kaidagamu is just taking advantage of me. Is the word still playing its tricks on me? Imagine me spending time to write about a word I randomly saw while on a journey. The word most likely had fled its kingdom, where it had an affair with the queen and the king had placed a bounty on its length (words don’t have heads). During its escape, it must have met the truck driver, performed its voodoo and voilà the man called the painter to help him place it tactically on the truck. Hence guaranteeing its ultimate escape.

But such a skillful word can’t be satisfied with the side of a truck, it must
flourish, it must make impact. It must move in the realm of the internet.

Wes did not start out being great. He’s been in the business since 1729 (you don’t have to believe me). I am probably noticing his works late into his career, but he has directed and released wacky plays (side eyeing Bottle Rocket).

I am picturing a time in his life when his mother had brought out koboko and said something like “Wes be great.” He must have had nightmares at University of Texas because of this. This must have propelled him to be abnormal (the good kind of abnormal). He would have performed his voodoo in school projects and they would have rejected him. He would then have sought magical prowess from industry leaders like Yasujiro Ozu. Eventually, he would come back to present his play in school.

This time, “Wes,” they would say, “you are great.”

They would ask “What kind of sorcery is this?” Marvelled!

But a man as skillful as Wes can’t be satisfied with school projects, he must produce block busters, he must lead movie charts.

Kaidagamu and Wes have things in common. They aren't satisfied: deep within them is an unquenchable thirst. And in trying to satisfy themselves, they leave rooted trail in the lives of people who come upon them. Not just that, they have acquired rear skills. And every time they use these skills, it’s like abracadabra.

People will search for them and their likes.

They will be sought after.

fun-tier /fʌnː tɪə/

A place where you are making impact, people value you and you are happy. But being the best version of yourself requires you to move on. Not necessarily from the current place, but in taking on new challenges.

The word fun-tier as used in the 2008 animated movie Wall-E.

Be indispensable: seek your fun-tier.

--

--