Zig & Zag Theory & Gaining Perspective

When everyone is doing one thing, do the opposite.

Dan Gheesling
DanGheesling
2 min readDec 9, 2019

--

Recently, I had to go out of town on short notice to visit a sick family member.

Since I was not live on Friday, I had Zane the editor put together a prerecorded show. This was important to me because I always want for there to be a show and a place for the community to hang out even if I’m not there.

Although trips such as this are always difficult, I am glad that I went as it gave me the chance to have some final conversations with this person who I love.

This was a new type of experience for me and meeting with this family member helped me gain some perspective. Specifically, it reinvigorated me to take advantage of the time that I am given.

However, it also reminded me not to take myself too seriously. It was a very humbling experience that encouraged me to enjoy life and be grateful for it.

If you are searching for some perspective, I’d encourage you to visit a senior home and spend some time with the people there. The important thing for me is to keep that perspective and not forget about it when I go back to my day-to-day life.

My Twitch bounty trying out Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice

On a lighter note, the new Dark Souls game Sekiro came out recently. Although it’s game that I know I want to play and will enjoy, I am going to wait to do a full playthrough.

Not only will this allow people to play the game beforehand so that they don’t have to worry about spoilers, they will also be able to help front seat when we play ourselves.

In addition, it is because I don’t want to play the game when everyone else is playing it as I believe it limits growth. When everyone else zigs, I lack to zag.

I apply this Zig-Zag Theory in all aspects of my content creation as I believe that is what works best for me and my channel. In addition, I am always looking to try new things because you will never know what does and doesn’t work until you do it.

A lot of my most successful moments have come from applying these two principles. It is for that reason that I believe in them so strongly.

To hear more about what I’ve learned this week, you can listen to this episode of the podcast on YouTube, Spotify, and iTunes.

This episode of the podcast

Connect with me :)

--

--