Buying a train ticket shouldn’t be this hard

Daniela Bowker
Daniela Bowker
Published in
2 min readMay 19, 2012

Perth, Saturday 19 May 2012

Here I go on another transportation rant. Sorry.

Buying train tickets for suburban services in Perth is an exercise in civil restraint. By the time that I had bought a ticket, missed a train, waited for another, and finally met my cousin, I was ready for the very large glass of Pinot Noir she poured when we stepped through the door of her house. Has it occurred to Tansperth that if they make it easy for people to buy tickets, they won’t have so many fare-dodgers? I’ve a feeling that people aren’t wontenly avoiding handing over $3.80 for a ticket, they simply can’t and are boarding trains ticketless out of sheer desperation.

First, there are only ticket machines at the central station; no ticket booths staffed by pleasant, helpful, or otherwise, staff. If you struggle with one of the machines, there’s no saving you.

Second, the machines refuse to accept any of my cards, credit or debit, ever. Apparently, the strips on all of them are damaged. This is somewhat surprising, given that they all work when I use them in shops, restaurants, or holes-in-the-wall. What’s the betting I am not alone in this predicament?

Third, if you use cash in the machines, they will only accept notes to the value of $10. If, like me, you had to get cash out of the conveniently located hole-in-the-wall at the station, its $20 offerings won’t get you very far.

Finding someone, anyone, who was able to change a $20 note for something smaller at 6pm on a Saturday around Perth central station, before I missed yet another train, required stamina and creative thinking. Many thanks are due to Foxy Nails who are open to 7pm, seven days a week. I owe them a pedicure.

--

--

Daniela Bowker
Daniela Bowker

Author of books; taker of photos; baker of cakes. Previously disillusioned secondary school teacher, now a freelance writer and editor.