My Homebox Open-Source Inventory Manager Deployment (Photos Only)

Project details:

Photos

Item listing
Tape (re)supplies are in the house!
My “first entry” / “to be sorted” box
Main tech cabinet / “live in wharehouse”
IKEA Ivar storage unit with additional storage cups and barcode reader
Individual asset with DataMatrix barcode and printed asset ID
Core storage unit
My workflow is photoraphing assets to be inventorised then creating the inventory item. This is one for a fire alarm. I’ve set up periodic checks to make sure it’s in working order.
The QL700 label printer was a fantastic purchase. I’ve also used it to label cables
I use P Touch Editor which came with my Brother label printer to design the barcodes asnd labels that are an important part of the system
Brother QL700 label printer
A PDF417 barcode. It resolves to a Homebox URL
I’ve created locations for just about every possible storage space in my apartment
I made some labels for pantry items while I was at it!
More pantry items
Inventory in progress!
Document folders (symbology: PDF417)
Labelling tape
More storage locations
Testing barcode scanner
Added receipts jar
Outdoor storage unit
Added washing machine with instructions and warranty details in the asset
Writing an asset ID in permanent marker
I tried using Google Sheets (left barcode) before discoving HomeBox (right barcode)
Adding photos to dashboard
Calling up a photo from an asset page
Adding shelves to storage locations

--

--

Daniel Rosehill
Daniel’s Tech World

Daytime: writing for other people. Nighttime: writing for me. Or the other way round. Enjoys: Linux, tech, beer, random things. https://www.danielrosehill.com