Cheeze Wizards duel doctor: Why did I lose my power?

It’s easy to have fun in Cheeze Wizards, but winning the grand prize will take skill, strategy, and perseverance. Ask your questions on Discord and Alan / Falcon will drop knowledge here

Cheeze Wizards 🧀
Dapper Labs
2 min readOct 26, 2019

--

Q: ok so I can finally figure this out can someone tell me how I got my ass handed to me on a plate since I only lost one more than the other player?

Alan / Falcon: You won one round “normally” and lost two rounds to your affinity’s weakness. So you lost quite a bit more than just by a single round.

If your opponent is fire, and they use fire, they will take more damage than normal to a water spell.

Likewise, they will gain more than usual if they win with a fire spell.

And if you’re wind and use wind and they’re fire and use fire, that’s a critical hit (marked as >>>) since they’d both get their affinity bonus and your affinity weakness factored in together.

Later rounds are somewhat more damaging than the earlier rounds. Turns out that they’re worth just enough to overcome an early affinity loss in some cases!

As another example:

Without the affinity weakness loss in round 2 (e.g. if they’d been a neutral vs a neutral), Cheezwhiz’s Wizard would have won (slightly) because they won the more impactful rounds in that duel.

For more about how duels and spells work, read the in depth external analysis of our smart contracts:

--

--

Cheeze Wizards 🧀
Dapper Labs

Cheeze Wizards is the world's first blockchain battle royale with cheese.