Being part of the RefVoice Project-My experience

Stavroula Pollatou (Student Account)
Dare to Challenge
Published in
3 min readJan 10, 2017

RefVoice is a project which was initiated at Startup Entrepreneurial Journalism 2016. It was considered one of the best projects to participate on the three-day event but unfortunately did not win a place in the finals.

This however, did not stop people from having interest in making it move on and thrive. One of these people was me. Being part of the Social Issues, Social Innovation and Corporate Responsibility Workshop, I thought that it would be a good idea to work on this idea more along with the founder Mary Bouli.To essentially work on its problems and possibilities so it can become a real life project in the immediate future.

I never regreted doing that, and even though the workshop is soon coming to an end for us, RefVoice is planning its way forward in 2017! You can check more about that in the article bellow.

Throughout the project I blossomed as a personality, worked on my presentation an problem solving skills. In addition I got to appreciate being part of a calm and mature team like the one we built with Mary Bouli and Maria Vasilakou.

Me myself, got to see the refugees in a more human way and actually instead of facing the refugee crisis as a whole problem I got to see what the individuals being part of it had to say.

The key stage for me in the project was meeting Rashed, a Syrian immigrant whom we had the honor to interview and film a documentary with, which will be soon available for the public eye to see.

--

--

Stavroula Pollatou (Student Account)
Dare to Challenge

Projects during my studies at the Department of Communication, Media and Culture @Panteion University (2016–2019)