Spreading Peace Got Me Out of a Contentious Situation

For the first time, my beliefs were genuinely put to the test

Vincent Van Patten
Dare to Dream
Published in
5 min readMay 16, 2021

--

A few hours ago the sky was overcast and moody. A drizzle had been coming down all afternoon to awaken the Earth — the smells of the mountain, the colors of the flowers and the cold evening air brought me profound joy.

I love this weather; especially while I hiked the orange bluffs close to my house.

I was driving home a few blocks from my place. All of a sudden, a car jumps behind me. It stays close on my tail. The other day I was walking down this hill, backwards, on an early morning walk.

Yup, backwards, it feels good to change it up.

The man flipped around from where he sat parked in the other direction and pretended to drive towards me as if he’d hit me. I froze, then jumped onto the sidewalk, trying to get my brain to understand what he was doing. He cut out of the way and blew past me, mouthing something as he passed.

Strange, I thought.

At the bottom of the hill he turned around and pumped the gas back up the hill, flying by me once again. I didn’t know what to make of it.

It got to me for a second, but I tried to shake it off and carry on with my day.

--

--

Vincent Van Patten
Dare to Dream

Exploring what lights my soul on fire while living in Japan. Host of The Dare to Dream Podcast vincentvanpatten.com