How to Keep an Idea Diary with an iPhone and the Notes App

Hey Siri, Take a Note!

Linda Locke
Dare To Write Now
Published in
2 min readFeb 15, 2022

--

Image from Canva

One of the best life changing things I’ve done over the past few years is to start keeping an Idea Diary on my iPhone using the built-in Notes App.

I’m always getting ideas — in the shower, listening to podcasts while driving, or reading magazines and books.

But I’d always forget them, as I frantically searched for a pen and a scrap of paper or the back of an envelope to write them down on.

Until one day, I had a brain wave about a better way to capture those fleeting thoughts.

I can just use the Notes App on my iPhone and record them. Easy Peasy!

I use this method to record my post and articles ideas, business ideas and any other genius ideas that come to me from the great beyond.

And whenever I want, I can go back through and search my Idea Diary for some creative inspiration.

To do this yourself:

1. Just open the Notes app on your iPhone.

2. Create a new Note.

3. Click on the microphone (in the bottom right hand corner).

4. Start talking!

Note: On Android phones, use the Google Keep App.

--

--

Linda Locke
Dare To Write Now

Writer, Author, Publisher of Midform Pub. I teach writing classes online and blog about writing, self-improvement and lots of other stuff.