The Mindset Of Unsuccessful People

“It’s good enough”

Darius Foroux
The Blog of Darius Foroux
4 min readMar 30, 2020

--

Image credit

How often have you said, “I’ve done a good enough job,” and moved on? If you’re like me, that’s the story of your life. It started when I was in school. I didn’t care about my grades. I just wanted to finish something and move on.

I always said, “no one cares about your grades.” And I believed that in “real life” no looks at your report cards from ages ago. And in fact, it’s true. Other than my parents, no one has ever looked at my grades — not from high school, and not from college.

That doesn’t mean no one looks at grades; some employers take grades very seriously. But there are not that many professions that require high grades.

If you want to get into certain law firms, sure, you need high grades, even to be considered. But I didn’t want to become a lawyer, accountant, or any other profession that requires high grades.

While I had nothing to prove to others, I forgot one person who I actually did everything for: Me.

You don’t go to school for other people. You don’t work for other people. But all we think about is external factors. We think about the schools we want to get into and the companies we want to work for.

We think about what we have to say to other people when the ask, “what do you do?”…

--

--

Darius Foroux
The Blog of Darius Foroux

Get a free excerpt of my new book, The Stoic Path to Wealth (Porfolio / Penguin), here: members.dariusforoux.com/stoic-path-excerpt