The Perfect Opportunity To Declutter Your Life

Say goodbye to what you don’t need

Darius Foroux
The Blog of Darius Foroux
4 min readApr 28, 2020

--

image credit

Too much stuff makes life complex. And yet, we all accumulate stuff. It’s a part of being a human. Even if you’re a minimalist , you’ll still accumulate things. We all do it, and there’s no need to be shameful about it. But let’s be honest. Do we really need everything we own?

Do you really need ten pairs of shoes? Or how about those two coffee machines that are sitting on your kitchen counter? And that iPad that’s catching dust on your desk?

I’m not perfect at that department. Like every other normal person, I’m also a consumer. But I don’t want to become a mindless one. That’s why I practice Stoicism and Mindfulness to decrease my desire for things I don’t need.

Because you and I both know that it’s not about what you own, it’s about what you want. We never have enough. We always want more. So to make your life simple, simply want less. As a result, you will also own less. Stoic philosopher Epictetus said it best:

“Wealth consists not in having great possessions, but in having few wants.”

It’s about moving on

When my grandmother passed, I was surprised with the calm demeanor of my…

--

--