What Is Productivity? A Definition & Proven Ways To Improve It

”Do all that you can to raise your productivity, because in the long run, that’s what matters most.”

Darius Foroux
The Blog of Darius Foroux
10 min readJan 13, 2020

--

Welcome to this productivity guide. The purpose of this guide is twofold. First, I will define what productivity is. Too often, we try to improve productivity without knowing what it is. Second, I share tested and proven ways to improve your productivity.

This is a dynamic guide. I’ve been researching productivity for 10+ years. I update this page as I find new ways to improve it. Feel free to bookmark this article as a reference. Productivity is not something we only study once. It’s a continuous practice. I hope you find this guide useful.

The Best Definition Of Productivity

Productivity is a concept that’s widely misunderstood. The main reason is that we use the word productivity on a macro and micro scale. On the news, we read about workforce productivity, which is basically the aggregate output of all workers.

So when we read “Productivity increased in September” we’re confused. Those macro trends have nothing to do with how productive a person is. To me, productivity is a personal measure. Especially in the 21st century where most of us work…

--

--

Darius Foroux
The Blog of Darius Foroux

Get a free excerpt of my new book, The Stoic Path to Wealth (Porfolio / Penguin), here: members.dariusforoux.com/stoic-path-excerpt