Open Kitchen happening.

Open Kitchen

A design intervention to switch tactical urbanism to strategic

Dan Hill
Dark Matter and Trojan Horses
9 min readSep 20, 2012

--

What Ravintolapäivä does to Helsinki

A picture is worth 1000 words. Which means I now have to write 1000 words about this, my favourite picture from the last Ravintolapäivä pop-up restaurant day (I’ve written about Ravintolapäivä before) As someone commented on Instagram, “I wish I could open 10000 Instagram accounts so I could like this photo that many times.”

This is a local Argentine living in Helsinki talking to my friend Lucas’s daughter. The woman is dressed as a human empanada, in order to convey that you can get empanadas here. “Here”, being their second floor window apartment, which becomes an impromptu serving hatch by using the same basket-pulley-cash-food technique that the egg-and-bacon-muffin lady pioneered for the last Ravintolapäivä.

(This piece was originally published at cityofsound.com on September 20th 2012, and describes the origins and launch of the Open Kitchen programme we devised; I’ve updated it to represent what happened when it ran for the first time, as well as posting the thinking behind the programme.)

This edition of RP was just as good as the others. Although we didn’t use…

--

--

Dan Hill
Dark Matter and Trojan Horses

Designer, urbanist, etc. Director of Melbourne School of Design. Previously, Swedish gov, Arup, UCL IIPP, Fabrica, Helsinki Design Lab, BBC etc