Problems with Mastodon

A distributed network alternative to twitter

Keith Parkins
Light on a Dark Mountain
4 min readApr 9, 2017

--

Mastodon

Mastodon has been launched as a distributed network alternative to twitter, unfortunately there are problems, problems that are being glossed over by its supporters.

Those saying they do not see a problem, are not even grasping there is a problem.

There may be many Joe Bloggs on twitter, but each will have a unique ID on twitter.

For example one may be

  • @joebloggs

But on Mastodon they can all be

  • @joebloggs

provided they each register on a different node.

It is correct as Matthew Cropp has said, each is unique, provided also include where initially registered.

For the record I therefore am

But that is assuming people are aware of this, and do not simply use

Not a problem if only one, but a problem if more than one at different nodes.

And even if are aware of this subtly, will they recall which one is me?

I could register on every single node, but not only would this be an endless time consuming task, it would also mean I would have to check every single one for messages.

This has created quite a furore within the Mastodon network.

Most failed to grasp, did not wish to grasp, or worse, this is how it works, get over it.

This is what happens when techies are set loose, with no understanding of how the real world works.

As more people are added, the worse this problem will become.

And sticking head in sand and pretending there is not a problem, is never a wise solution.

Some say cannot be resolved, it is a distributed system, not a centralised system cf twitter.

This is not true. It may not be a centralised system, but a network has to have agreed protocols, else cannot function as a network.

Thus there is a distributed agreement on how the network functions, if not, it cannot function as a network, it would be isolated islands with weak unreliable links.

Therefore one solution could be …

If register

it cannot then be registered on any other node, or maybe exception if I register (verified by same e-mail address).

There are associated problems.

If I register on one node, messages I post only visible on that node.

Messages only become visible on another node, if someone from that node follows me.

Some nodes send out follow bots to follow on other nodes as a workaround this problem.

Begs the question, how do they know I exist to follow me.

#hashtags, where do they appear? On the single node, or on every node?

If the node you are registered, fails, no longer available, then you are no longer on the network.

Possible solution …

When register, granted the ability to log in on at least two other nodes.

Could also have distributed database of those who register. For security, it is divided between several nodes, no one node has complete copy, but more than one node has a copy.

The interface is dreadful.

I thought this when I first registered.

Last night, having for the first time some traffic, I found how bad in actual use.

On twitter, I follow less than 100, have over 2000 followers, reach can be counted in millions. A lot of traffic. No way could I have handled this level of traffic with the dreadful Mastodon interface.

I contrast with Tusky, Android app, a far neater, cleaner, easier to use interface. And yes I can recommend. Compliments to the designer.

When posting a link, the link is not shown. Essential if wish people to follow the link.

Yes, can pull up extra details, but should not be necessary.

On Tusky, even this option not available.

I have a partial work around, include an image for the link. But extra work for me, and should not be necessary.

On twitter, link is visible, on Mastodon not visible, have to explicitly add an image.

At the end of the day, what is important is utility, that is what determines how useful, if worth using, not if distributed, open source, open coop, coop platform. Yes, important, but a bonus compared with utility.

And it is not a good shop window for open coops, open source, coop platforms, if not as good as if not better than what we should be replacing.

The problem with ID on Mastodon, should not be confused or conflated as many are doing with a more fundamental problem, that of who or what the digital entity we are communicating with.

This can only be addressed through provenance or some form of crypt-secure ID.

If I say who I am on Mastodon, and I state it here, where I existed before Mastodon, then I am on Mastodon who I say I am.

Or I present a signed and verified PGP key.

The only truly secure way to obtain a PGP public key is direct in person from its claimed owner or via a trusted emissary.

--

--

Keith Parkins
Light on a Dark Mountain

Writer, thinker, deep ecologist, social commentator, activist, enjoys music, literature and good food.