"I never finish anything I start"

Sofie Jacobs
Inspiring Minds
Published in
3 min readMay 6, 2024
Photo by Tom Morel on Unsplash

You're not alone dear.

I personally understand you. lol

I initially joined LinkedIn in 2022, and I cannot count how many times I've had to change my headline.

This is not as a result of trying to get my account properly optimized or positioned. Nope!

It was as a result of jumping from one profession to another.

Today, I'm a technical writer, tomorrow I'm a health writer, next week, I have become a YouTube script writer, then check me next month, I'm now into crypto😭

See, I was doing this not because I am such an unserious human being, well not entirely, but because I would start a thing then loose interest.

Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

After I got tired of the back and forth, I decided to stay consistent at the one thing I love to do and this is what I have learnt so far...

When you are going after a goal, you must guard your heart, fuel your interest and protect your focus.

How?

By entertaining only the things that feed into the goal you've set.

We often get distracted because we entertain things that aren’t in alignment with what we’ve set out to achieve.

How can you be an athlete who only watches or reads content on footballers?
It won't be long, the athlete will begin to consider football.

Or a fashion designer who only watches and listens to chefs, in no time, you'll begin to think of starting a fast food joint or something.

This is one of the major reasons why people loose focus.

Photo by Chase Clark on Unsplash

Yes! Your interests may have come by inspiration, but they won’t stay by inspiration.

You must understand that it is your responsibility to nurture and maintain your focus on the things you've set out to do.

This is not something you leave up to time, chance or the algorithm. You must be strategic and intentional about it.

Start configuring your environment, your language and even your algorithm to fit the goals you’ve set out to achieve.

If you want to become a programmer, then you have no business watching fashion models. Let everything around you remind and push you in the direction of your goals.

This is how you stay on track and see things through.

Did this help you?

Drop at least 50 claps ;), share your thoughts or experience in the comments and follow for more❤️

--

--

Sofie Jacobs
Inspiring Minds

Digital Creator ✨ | I give you practical tips and tricks to help you become a better version of yourself.