POETRY

Like Father Like Daughter

The Duo

Somya Baral
Inspiring Minds
Published in
2 min readFeb 20, 2024

--

Together, we were walking on the sloppy hills
sharing the love for endless skies
paving the way for each other
moving along like the Duo.

All of a sudden, she tripped on slippery slope
“Watch it, baby!” I screamed
holding her tight.

We walked a few steps to the hilltop
and with a twist of fate, I tripped on a rock
“Papa, are you hurt?” she asked caressingly
And I smiled with no words, unabashedly.

I wish I can be there for her
at every single trip and fall
It has been my love or, say, my fallacy
Or am I trying to hide my inadequacy.

When you were as little as
you can rest your head in my palm
I left you for few days, grieving my own wounds
and I misjudged how much it could cost us

On that medical bed, I saw you cry incessantly
praying to God, we waited indelibly.
To you, my dear, I promise to come uninvited
asking for forgiveness and faith undeterred
I would be there for

--

--

Somya Baral
Inspiring Minds

Hello Friends !! Travel and Poetry had always been my passions. I love writing poetry and meet new people. You can reach me at oflyingbird@gmail.com