One Year Ago…

Juliet Romeo
Inspiring Minds
Published in
2 min readApr 7, 2024

Life changed…

Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

One year ago…
It seems like a lifetime.
From then to now…
No comparison can be found.
Discovered a new darkness
Blindsided by an ending
Forced into a new beginning
In between,…forced to survive
Ending to beginning

Refusal to be a victim
This sounds heavy and dramatic; I know
But…Traumatic was the reality
To discover Evil…again…but different…was almost too much
My spirit, soul, heart, and mind…
forced into a place I never experienced or knew existed

One year ago…
Life changed
Layers and layers stripped away
I’m not sure what layers remain
Healing knows no limits
Healing has no timeline
Healing knows no boundaries
Sometimes…healing has no words
Broken to healing

I don’t look back with anger, blame, or revenge.
I look back on the lessons learned and the significance of that time.
I’m primarily numb now…
rebuilding my still-raw spirit
My hopes and dreams have shifted… not for better or worse…
They simply shifted.

I feel that this “shift” is the most complicated change.
New dreams and desires are taking time to be discovered
This is a gentle and vulnerable and precious process … a gift
With this process comes strength and truth… a new path emerging…
Slowly…

Then to now…
Ending to beginning…
Broken to healing…

Juliet Romeo…

--

--

Juliet Romeo
Inspiring Minds

My passion for writing is blossoming and reaching out in many directions. Poetry, short stories, self reflection. Dark and humorous. Wicked and sharp.